Skip to content

Course roles in Learn Ultra

Summary

A user's Course Role within a Learn Ultra course site or organisation determines what they can access or do on the course, e.g. whether they can create/edit/delete content, see hidden content, see assignment submissions and more.

If you manually enroll users on a course site or organisation, you need to select the appropriate Course Role.

Quick Guidance

There are six main Course Roles available on Learn Ultra. They have different names in Courses (ie. module sites) and Organisations, but have the same level of access.

Here is a summary of the Roles available, from the most to the least permissive. Click each role to see more details.

Course Role Organisation equivalent role Role ideal for
Instructor Leader Most academic and admin staff.
Teaching Assistant Assistant Staff that should have limited access to enrol others, but otherwise act as an Instructor
Marker Marker Staff/GTAs who only need to mark student submissions, or who should not have edit access to content.
Course Builder Organisation Builder Staff/GTAs who only need to build or edit course content. They can't mark student submissions.
Student Participant Students studying the module, for credit or not; use of any user that you do not want to give read-only access to (ie, can't edit, see hidden content or mark submissions)
Guest Guest Do not use for individuals, only for automatic enrolment objects. Individual users given the "guest" role cannot access Ultra sites. See information below.

More Details

More information on each Role's access level and what they can do (from the most to the least permissive), can be found on our Course Roles spreadsheet.

Guest Access - Do Not Use For Individuals!

By default, individual users given the "Guest" role cannot access Learn Ultra courses or organisations. A "Guest Access" setting has to be enabled on a VLE site to allow Guests to see and access content. However, this is strongly advised against.

Guest access (if enabled on a VLE site) allows non-authenticated access to all or some of the site. This means that:

  • Anyone (UoY-affiliated or otherwise) that gained a link to your guest-enabled site could access it without needing to log in. Essentially anyone and everyone around the world could be able to access the site.
  • The site would appear in Google search results.

Please use the "student" role instead of "guest" role, for users you wish to have the least amount of access possible on your VLE site.

Tip

Automatic enrolment user groups (aka "SITS Group Users" and "People Group Users") should have the Guest Role - this is correct! This automatically pulls user data from SITS and enrolls individual users with an appropriate role. Individual users should not have the guest role.