Skip to content

Unenrol a user

Summary

Users can be manually unenrolled from a Learn Ultra course or organisation. There are different methods depending on whether their data should be deleted or retained.

Quick Start Guide

These methods can be used to unenrol a user that was manually enrolled on the site.

If a user was automatically enrolled through a Group user (this applies to most students), extra steps are needed to prevent them being re-enrolled again after they are removed. Please contact us at vle-support@york.ac.uk to unenrol these users.

Remove a user and delete their data

  1. Under the Details & Actions menu, select Class register/View everyone on your course.
    Details & Actions menu showing Class register and people icon with 'View everyone on your course' text link below
  2. Locate the user to unenrol using the search function or by finding them in the list.
  3. Click the three dots to the right of the user's name and select Edit member information.
    Steps followed to edit member information for a student user
  4. If the user has a non-Student role, change their role to Student using the drop-down menu.
  5. Click the dustbin icon next to the user's name to remove them from the course.
    User information with dustbin icon to right
  6. When prompted, click remove member. This cannot be undone.

Warning

Removing a user from a course will delete all of their marks, assignment submissions, activity logs and data from the course (eg. posts to Discussions). This cannot be undone. To retain the user's data, remove their access to the course instead.

Remove a user's access but retain their data

  1. Under the Details & Actions menu, select Class register/View everyone on your course.
    Details & Actions menu showing Class register and people icon with 'View everyone on your course' text link below
  2. Locate the user to unenrol using the search function or by finding them in the list.
  3. Click the three dots to the right of the user's name and select Edit member information.
    Steps followed to edit member information for a student user
  4. If the user has a non-Student role, change their role to Student using the drop-down menu.
  5. Untick the Allow access to course option.
    Tick box to allow access to course under course settings
  6. Click Save.

More Details / Troubleshooting

The error “Cannot remove Instructor users from course. Only System Administrator users can remove Instructor users” means that you need to change the user's role from Instructor to Student before removing them.