Skip to content

Content visibility

Summary

Content can be set as visible to students or hidden from students.

Relevant VLE site design principles

  • 5.1 Recommended: Ensure that students can see and access module materials and content.

Quick Start Guide

Video Steps

Video: Content availability in Ultra

Text Steps

Items in the Course Content area can be set to Visible to students or Hidden from students. By default, all new items are automatically hidden from students.

Single item

  1. Hover over the current visibility status (e.g. Hidden from students) of the content item whose visibility you want to change, then click the arrow.
  2. Click on the required visibility option.
    Selecting a visibility state for one item in the Course Content area

Muliple items

  1. Click on the three dots icon to the right of the Course Content heading.
  2. Select Batch Edit.
    Clicking the three dots icon to the right of the Course Content heading and then Batch edit
  3. Select the content items whose visibility you want to change by clicking the checkboxes.
  4. Click Options in the bottom right corner of the screen.
  5. Click Edit visibility.
    Selecting items, clicking on Options and then clicking edit visibility
  6. Select the required visibility state, e.g. Hidden from students.
  7. Click Save visibility.
    Changing the visibility setting and then clicking save visibility

Warning

It is important to check that all the correct content items are visible or hidden before students are enrolled on the course. To check, click on Student Preview in the top right corner of the page.

More Details and Troubleshooting

It is possible to set items to become visible to or hidden from students based on certain conditions, e.g. date and time. For more information on this, please see the Release Conditions guide.